World Curling Federation Board has accepted Afghanistan into its membership

World Curling reaches 60 members

At the conclusion of the sixth World Curling Congress, in Bled, Slovenia, Monday 18 September 2017 the World Curling Federation Board has accepted new Associations into its membership, taking the told number of Member Associations to 60.

Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan, Portugal and Saudi Arabia have all been approved into conditional membership.

Today’s (Monday 18 September) news comes following the Federation’s Annual General Assembly, which saw the Members of the Federation accepting a series of major championship format changes – introduced to help grow the sport worldwide.

These include:

* Increasing the World Women’s and Men’s Curling Championships from 12 to 13 teams with a six-team play-off – to be implemented in the forthcoming season (2017-2018).

* Then, in 2018-2019 a World Qualification Event will be added to the international curling calendar.

* The World Wheelchair Curling Championship will have 12 teams from 2019, up from ten in past seasons.

* From 2018-2019, the Free Guard Zone rule will be amended to help reduce blank ends and improve competition within games

* Also, the World Curling Federation announced a brand new four-leg, World Series of Curling, which will begin in season 2018-2019

For a full overview of decisions taken at the Annual General Assembly visit,

News and pictures from the Congress and AGA have been posted on the World Curling Federation website ( and Twitter, Instagram (@WorldCurling) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation) channels.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.